Moon Photography

I have today a somewhat dramatic ‘before’ ‘after’ thing for y’all to see. I went out tonight and took some photos of the moon. First, I tried using my own (faint) knowledge of manual mode, and this is what came out:

IMG_0853.jpg
And this photo looked a LOT worse before I edited it…and it’s still overexposed!

Then I decided it was too much for me to attempt what I had no clue about. So…I did some research and found this handy little canon discussion form on moon photography.

http://community.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS-Rebel/How-do-you-take-a-picture-of-the-moon-using-Canon-EOS-Rebel-T5/td-p/135436

And after applying what I read…

IMG_0873.Jpeg.jpg
…this is the result!

I was SO pleased with this photo. I couldn’t believe with just a little tweaking of the settings I had such a different result. And the best part? I was able to use ISO 100! Yay!

What do you think of all this?

cropped-logomakr_5mgrre.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Moon Photography

    1. Emmaline Figura

      Thanks, Natasha! I have a 300mm zoom lens which I used and I used the suggested settings (on the website I linked): F/11, ISO 100, Shutter Speed 1/100. I was so happy that it ended up so clear! It was actually really easy when I finally got the correct settings 😉 .

      Like

Leave a Reply

