Originals VS. Edits

IMG_3950.JPG

Being right where I am in photography, has landed me THUNK!…in the middle of the editing vs. no editing ‘debate’. Now, I think the majority of us know that ‘real’ photographers all edit to some extent. Been there- had my dreams shattered πŸ˜€

Instead of necessarily saying one or the other…I am going to do a fun little post on my cost-efficient style of editing and share some of my favorite shots before and after. I am pretty excited about this…so let’s get it done!

1. Sunbeams through the clouds.

(this is just a random nature shot…which I took through a moving car’s window. This isn’t a favorite exactly.)

2. Sweet little boy.

Maybe you are starting to get a feel for my style of editing. I prefer to go for less editing and more on-camera quality. But sometimes some things can just be popped with a well-polished edit. In case you’re wondering-I use Picasa 3. I have used many other free sites (picmonkey, fotor, gimp, etc.) and liked them alright but this one has worked so much better for me.

3. Sweet little boy’s sweet little sister. πŸ™‚

Isn’t she so adorable? The one thing that stands out the most to me in the ‘after’ is the color. It seems like it just pops a lot more. The thing that isn’t so nice is the enhancement of the orange tone. But one must make sacrifices. 😦

4. Get him, Sheriff!

 

5. Wild ‘Nightlock’.

Ahhh…I never really let anyone know that I was proud of this photo. But I am. Taken on my 50mm lens during the golden hour, and producing those giant circular bokehs ! I really am very happy with this photo. I even like the original (though, I must admit- the edit pops the bokehs much better!).

6. Golden hour B&W+bokehs galore.

Taken the same time as my ‘nightlock’ photo…during the golden hour. One thing I like to say about bokehs is the more golden the light is (or the more light there is) the more bokehs. Or if you have TOO much sun, you might get sun flare too πŸ˜€ . The before photo looks like it is flooded with light. The second looks like it still had that lovely light…but is higher in contrast.

7. Rainbow cedar.

There isn’t a huge amount of difference from the two photos I don’t think. But I still like the edit.

8. Falling snow.

And that’s a wrap. I hope you enjoyed this post.

logomakr_5mgrre

 

2 thoughts on “Originals VS. Edits

Leave a Reply

