Timing In Photography+ A White Dress

Timing In Photography.png

 

In my mind…timing is everything. It pertains to the lighting, the expression of the models face, and the mood. If you time something incorrectly, you might miss a special moment.

 

What Time is Nicest?

This is honestly a matter of personal preference. I would say golden hour (there are two!), and for me the last one. I have been awake (for the first golden hour) approximately one first golden hour and it was before I got my camera ๐Ÿ˜ฅ . But find what works best for you. I know of people who’s favorite time based on lighting to photograph is twilight.

evening-194018_1920.jpg
Image from Pixabay.com

But now some photos I recently took during golden hour…including the white dress ๐Ÿ˜€ .

IMG_0141.jpg

IMG_0097

IMG_0102.jpg

IMG_0104.jpg

 

IMG_0107.jpg

IMG_0148.jpg

IMG_0240

IMG_0242

 

 

Check Before You Snap!

I am awful, terrible, dreadful- when it comes to following this. I am always forgetting to check and see if something distracting is in my frame. I forget to take another look at the expressions on my models’ faces. And I also forget to check my settings. One shift can change your exposure. And especially during the golden hour! For instance…I think that where I live I have less time in the golden hour. This is not because my golden hour isn’t an hour. It’s because our property only gets the lovely light as long as I can follow it.

This means I’m constantly getting my subjects to move for me.

“Oh, the light’s moved again! Can we move this way a little? Maybe stand right there…uh…not there. There! Much better!”

So if you’re in a rush…the goal is to make sure your pictures don’t look rushed. Stay calm and check the settings before you press the shutter.

  1. check to make sure the model’s hands aren’t placed stiffly.
  2. check your exposure on the meter.
  3. check to make sure the model is standing straight, but not stiffly (if they’re standing).
  4. check the background.
  5. access the negative space in your image.
lisianthus-1402830_1920.jpg
Negative space is how much space is after your image. Or around. From Pixabay.com
negspace.jpg
Here’s an example of negative space on both sides of a picture. This is a photo I took recently. ย โค

Once again, the timing is everything!

Here’re a few more pictures before I close out this post.

IMG_0109.jpg
Yes there were other people nearby. ๐Ÿ˜€

IMG_0172.jpg

my logo (1)

 

Leave a Reply

